California Auto Insurance – Simples Steps to Help Lower Your Auto Insurance Rates

June 8, 2017 · Posted in General Articles on Car Insurance 

California auto insurance is compulsory for all drivers in the state. California is a tort state, which makes you financially responsible for injuries and damages in auto accidents. Maintain a good driving record with higher deductibles to arrive at affordable California auto insurance with sufficient coverage. Of course, other factors like number of miles driven each year, driving experience, etc. play prominent roles in deciding your insurance rates.

What decides my financial responsibility?

You can prove your financial responsibility in any one of the following ways:

* Have an automobile liability insurance policy * Surety bond for $35,000 from insurance company to do business in California * Self-insurance certificate of DMV, if you own more than twenty-five vehicles * Cash deposit with DMV for $35,000

What is the minimum coverage available?

California auto insurance offers minimum liability insurance of $15,000 for physical injury or death per person per accident, $30,000 for all persons affected in an accident, and $5,000 for damages to property per accident. Your insurance coverage should have this minimum coverage; otherwise, you should provide alternative methods of paying for damages due to any accident. California law does not make other coverage like collision, comprehensive, medical payments, uninsured motorist, etc. compulsory.

How you can acquire auto insurance?

There are many insurance companies in California offering different insurance rates for their policies. Different companies calculate their rates according to their experiences, expenses, losses, etc. You need to scout around for various insurance companies, agents, brokers, etc. to get a fair idea of different rates in same geographical region. You can take help of the Internet or call up different insurance companies to gather information. Thereafter, you can choose the most suitable insurance company, which offers necessary coverage at rates affordable by you.

What if no company is willing to insure my vehicle?

It is possible that no California auto insurance company is willing to provide you coverage. You can then receive liability coverage through California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan (CAARP). You need to approach such agents or CAARP directly. They then assign your application to any licensed insurance company. All such insurance companies have to accept CAARP applicants and there can be no broker’s fees or charges. You can take up a regular insurance from standard companies after three years of clean driving record.

 

Car Insurance Search

Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.