Car Leasing And Insurance Info

November 23, 2017 · Posted in General Articles on Car Insurance · Comment 

Some dealers quote a lower interest rate when in reality it’s much higher. They do this by either purposefully quoting the money factor as the interest rate or calculating the loan without amortizing some closing fees, like the security deposit, into the loan lease.

Terminate your lease early for a low penalty This is an all-time leasing scam. You ask your dealer how much you will pay if you want to terminate your lease and he tells you: “You want to get out early? Sure thing, you only pay an early termination fee of $300″.

They typically want to get covered for the difference between what your auto-insurer pays and your outstanding leasing obligations at the time of the accident or damage. This is called GAP, short for Guaranteed Auto Protection, and is usually included in the leasing contract.

You do not have to pay extra money for a warranty already built into your payments or for one that goes well beyond your lease term. They might slip an extended warranty in. Don’t be fooled, the warranty is already factored in.

You are under no obligation to accept GAP insurance included as part of your lease agreement. Why pay an insurance premium if you could get the same coverage for a lower price?

Leasing is sometimes more of a personal and lifestyle choice than a financial one. Many people are not comfortable with the idea of owning a vehicle over a long period of time. They’d rather keep up with the latest trends of the industry and drive the latest models every two to three years.

Leasing also offers purchasing flexibility: it allows you to defer the purchasing decision while using the car. You don’t have to haggle with your mechanic over repair expenses, deal with hefty maintenance bills or worry about a depreciating asset.

This has given rise to many leasing scams that trick the customer into believing they are into a good deal when, in effect, all he is getting is a rough deal on the dealer’s terms.

Do You Live In Nevada And Need Car Insurance?

April 12, 2017 · Posted in General Articles on Car Insurance · Comment 

Sorting out your auto insurance is an expensive, but necessary, annual expense for most of us.

Have you ever had to make a claim on your car insurance? If you can answer yes to this question then I bet there is a good number of you that were disappointed with their auto insurer. Perhaps many of you will have had to do alot of the groundwork chasing the insurance company to get things done, some of you will probably have had to fight with your insurance company about the costs, and no doubt most of you will have found it stressful.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners included, in its annual report of 2008, a comparison of the average auto insurance premium for Nevada against the rest of the country. The report revealed that the average premium per vehicle in Nevada state was $1,137 annually, whilst private passenger auto insurance for the rest of the country was noticeably less at only $937 per vehicle.

Since car insurance is more expensive for those of us who happen to live in Las Vegas or somewhere else in Nevada, we need to make sure we get a good deal for our money.

To ensure that you get a good deal for your money, make sure you are aware of what you are getting for your dollar. I consider a good policy to be one that meets your minimum liability by law yet also provides other levels of cover that you require without incurring any issues from the insurance company should you need to make a claim. Check out your intended insurance company carefully, do they have a good reputation?

Now, both bodily injury and property damage coverage (liability coverage) can be bought as split-limit coverage or combined single-limit cover. If you choose to purchase liability cover as a combined single limit, then the figures for bodily injury and property damage are combined ie. $40,000 is the combined single limit for all bodily injury and/or property damage, and this figure is the minimum combined single-limit cover allowable by the law of Nevada.

Comprehensive and collision cover are not required by law in the state of Nevada and is generally unavailable for some ie. young drivers who are of minimum age.

You are generally not required to carry medical payments but all insurance companies are required by law to offer you a medical payments liability cover of at least $1000 and uninsured/under-insured motorist cover at an amount equal to the bodily injury cover that you decide to purchase.

If you are planning to lease a car you are advised to check the lease agreement since they generally require that you have a liability cover of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident and possibly a damage cover over the lower limit of $10,000 that is required by the law in Nevada.